MINUTES OF THE DECATUR COUNTY SOLID WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD

Tuesday September 22, 2015 at 6:00 p.m.

The meeting of the Decatur County Solid Waste Management District Board was called to order by Chairman Terry Wagner on Tuesday, September 22, 2015 at 6:00P.M. at the Decatur County Solid Waste Office at 315 S Ireland St, Greensburg, IN 47240

MEMBERS PRESENT: Mayor Gary Herbert, City Councilman Terry Wagner, County Councilman Kenny Hooten County Commissioner John Richards

MEMBERS ABSENT: County Commissioner Rick Nobbe, County Commissioner Jerome Buening

OTHERS PRESENT: Executive Director Brittani Saunders, Mark Fixmer of Best Way Disposal/Decatur Hills Landfill, Ron May.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: Motion was made by Kenny Hooten to approve minutes of August 2015 meeting. Seconded by John Richards.

TREASURER'S REPORT: Motion was made by Kenny Hooten to approve September 2015 claims. Mayor Herbert seconded the motion.

DIRECTOR'S REPORT: Brittani Saunders

Brittani explained that we had a 50% curbside participation for July.

Brittani also introduced Resolution 2015-02 Resolution Permitting Use of District Director Credit Card. A resolution for credit card use is required by the State. Kenny Hooten made a motion to accept Resolution 2015-02 and Mayor Herbert seconded the motion. All in favor.

Brittani also brought forth a copy of the office nepotism policy that she has signed saying that she will not hire family members to the district if at any point we should need to hire extra help. Brittani also let the board know that starting in January a Board Member Conflict of Interest Policy will need to be complete for each board member. This document will need to be signed every year by board members.

EDUCATION REPORT: Brittani Saunders

Brittani let the board know that the first round of bottle caps would be going to Evansville to be turned into benches for Greensburg Community Schools. Special thanks go to Best Way Disposal for transportation. The next set of bottle caps will be taken thanks to Valeo and Joe Prickel, who is a Citizens Advisory Committee member.

NEW BUSINESS: Brittani Saunders

Mark Gearhart is interested in continuing to do our mobile recycling route. He has asked for a decrease in time at each location from 1 and a half hours to 1 hour. Brittani put a survey together and found that the majority (51 to 5) were ok with the change in time. There were also many great compliments on the surveys about the service and also about Mark Gearhart and his family. The board has asked Mark to put a new proposal together and the board will look it over at the next board meeting. Because the contract is less than the State of Indiana's minimum amount that has to be bid on personal services, the board has decided not to bid the service out at this time.

OLD BUSINESS:

Brittani presented the Indemnification Agreement that our Attorney, Drew Young wrote for us in regards to the payment that will be made to Carl Stier and Matthew Loyd. Kenny Hooten made a motion to accept the agreement as it is wrote and John Richards seconded the motion. All in favor.

Other Public Comment:

Ron May was present at the meeting to let the board know that a full summary of Tox-A-Way would be presented at the next board meeting. Ron explained that so far we have heard from T&T Tire and our tonnage for this year was down by almost 20%. This year's total for tires was 61.3 tons. Ron asked the board if they had any comments or concerns and everyone felt that things went very well. Talk was made in regards to allowing River Metals Recycling to take the Non-CFC Appliances for next year's event, but from what Ron could tell there were not many items that would have been able to be accepted by RMR. This matter will be discussed more at a later date. Overall the board felt that it was a very good event. Brittani explained that we had 640 residents attend this year which is slightly up from last year and almost 200 more than 2013.

ADJOURN: Next board meeting October 27, 2015 at 6:00 p.m. Motion was made by John Richards to adjourn the meeting. Motion was seconded by Kenny Hooten.

Terry Wagner, Chairman	
	Brittani Saunders Attest